Jill in the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat

I found this old lap blanket made out of colorful yarn remnants at my parent’s house last year. My talented mother (who probably made the blanket 25 years ago to begin with) reworked armholes into in and whalah…it’s a poncho! The colorful patchwork combination, intricate crochet, and meaningful background make this a unique piece that I value dearly and will no doubt be in my closet for the next 25 years.

Because the poncho is such a statement piece I simply pair it with black leggings and a black undershirt or jeans and a basic long sleeve top. I keep the rest of the outfit minimal to allow the poncho to be the focal point…and let me say, when I wear it out in the streets of Chicago, it’s definitely an eye-catcher.

Leave a Reply

