My New Coral Crop Top

I’m generally not one for cropped tops but I did gravitate toward this one when I recently spotted it at the Free People boutique in Chicago. Maybe it is my love of floral prints that drew me to the poppy pattern top, or my new found obsession for the color coral (I swear I’ve bought more coral tops in the past few months than I’ve owned my entire life), or the way the delicate sheer short shirt falls off the shoulder and asymmetric high hem creates an polished look that seems so effortless. Whatever it is, this top how found it’s place in my collection, and I must say, it’s holding its own in terms of outfitting. Check out the several different ways I styled to crop top in completely different ways.

 The coral top is tucked into a pair of brown high-waisted, wide-leg cords. I love how the delicate sheer silk contradicts the coarse corduroy it is combined with.

Trend Alert – Color Blocking! This time I tucked the coral shirt into a pair of olive green high-waisted wool shorts. I’d accessorize with a pair of ivory patterned tights to keep my legs covered from the cold and finishd it off with fur lined brown leather booties. I’m definately identifying with the higher waistbands for bottoms and corresponding shorter hems for shirts this season (it also makes it easier to tuck them into each other without adding extra bulk).

This casual look shows of the shortness of the shirt. Simply paired with some dark denim this look appears both polished & effortless and shows off a feminine shape.

For this look, I tucked the shirt into a brown tweed A-line skirt. If you noticed, I turned the shirt around and wore it backwards because I did not want the two pockets on the shirt to compete with the pockets on the skirt. I accessorized it with a wooden/lace necklace I made & olive upholstry tassel and paired it with some ivory eyelet lace shoebooties that mimick the poppy pattern that is within the top.

Which way is your favorite? Can you think of any other ways the crop top can be styled?

2 responses to “My New Coral Crop Top

  1. the top is amazing! great find!

  2. The last one is my favorite :) Nice styling job

Leave a Reply

