Stepping Outside of my Usual Style with this New Blue Blouse

I’m not quite sure what it is about this Times Two Blouse from Anthropologie that grabbed my attention, but when I first saw it, I really liked it. It kind of caught me by surprise because this top is essentially the opposite of what I always wear.

  • I hardly ever wear ‘true’ colors, but rather, I navigate toward rich jewel tones or neutral earth tones.  For some reason, I was drawn to the bold blue hue.
  • I hate polka-dots. I know, it’s a strong statement, I’ve just never liked the perfect little dotted print. But again, for some reason, I don’t mind them on this mixed print top – it’s probably because they’re on the back…so at least I can’t see them.
  • With my body type (I have broad shoulders – which I attribute to years of gymnastics growing up), I have a hard time wearing button-down shirts and I definitely don’t usually wear cropped tops. This shirt has both of those silhouettes. Since I tend to wear more drapey things, I ended up buying this blouse two times larger than what I normally wear so it would be the oversized style that I’m use to (I typically buy a size 4 or 6, but I got this shirt in a size 12!)

Even after all of the contraries, when I got this top home I had no problems fitting it in with what I already own. Here are a couple of the outfits I came up with:

Keeping the rest of the outfit basic black really lets this bright, playful patterned top stand out.

Mixing the cobalt blue top with pink denim plays up the color-blocking trend that is once again, a popular trend this season.

Pairing the sheer blue shirt with casual brown cargo pants dresses down and balances out the chic, silk chiffon blouse.

Have you ever been drawn to something that is completely opposite of what you normally wear? Did you end up buying it? – And if so, did you end up wearing it once you got it home or wonder, “What was I thinking?”

Leave a Reply

