Missed Opportunity: My Argyle Sweater Skirt

Every time I do a seasonal wardrobe switch, I come across pieces that I wish I would have worn more often. This time, as I packed away my winter wardrobe, I came upon my argyle sweater skirt from Anthropologie. Since I didn’t get to wear it as many times as I wanted before the weather warmed-up, I spent some time styling outfits with it – so that when Fall does roll around…I’ll have plenty of ways to wear it. Check out some of my options:

Keeping it casual with a light blue basic cotton tee from Anthropologie and a statement wood beaded necklace.

Again, the clothing stays basic with an olive cotton blousy Anthro top. The geometric linked ivory enamel necklace mimics the diamond-shape within the argyle skirt.

And with yet another cotton top – this one ivory with an embroidered-front floral print motif, from Anthropologie.

There’s a lot going on in this outfit. The argyle sweater skirt is worn with a Free People taupe twist-front top layered underneath a F.P. olive lace blazer. A knotted single beaded strand necklace finishes off the look.

Worn with an Anthropologie mustard yellow draped sweater and pearl necklace, this outfit is chic & sophisticated.

Paired with an ivory poncho from the GAP, the neutral hue stands out from within the patterned skirt. Belting it highlights the waist hidden underneath all of that fabric.

The sheer light blue silk with lace inset slip from Urban Outfitters is a nice contrast to the woven sweater material of the skirt it is tucked into.

Lastly, I pulled the skirt up and wore it as a strapless dress. I belt it to accentuate the waist and show that I still have a figure underneath all of the cloth.

***Note: I love doing this will all of my elasticized waistband skirts. It allows you to play around with your pieces and get the most wear out of what you own.

Which way is your fav?

Even with summer in full swing, I can’t help but look forward to a cool down – so I get a chance to wear some of these outfits!

3 responses to “Missed Opportunity: My Argyle Sweater Skirt

  1. The second look is my favourite…very chic and modern. I also like the last look, as it’s simple and has a short of boho feel to it!

  2. Hi Jill. I love and have been searching for this exact skirt from Anthropologie (they sold out before I was able to get my hands on one). If you ever grow tired of this skirt (which I’m guessing will not be the case any time soon) or are looking to clean out your closet, I would love to buy it from you, provided it’s a small. Thanks!!

  3. Howdy I am so thrilled I found your blog page, I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Bing for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a marvelous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don韙 have time to go through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the superb work.

Leave a Reply

