Ranting about the Randolph Street Market

All summer long I’ve been wanting to go to the Randolph Street Market. Beginning in May, purveyors, curators and curious consumers gather at the Randolph Street Market Festival on the last weekend of the month for two days of treasure hunting. Randolph Street Market

Up until now I’ve always had something going on that’s kept me from being able to go – that is, until today. I woke up this morning & put on a “vintage” treasure I already own – my antique motif silk cover-up that I found at Urban Outfitters few weeks ago. (it only seemed appropriate)

Urban Outfitters Antique Motif Silk Slip

I walked down to Michigan Avenue and took a trolley into the West Loop to the market. A $10.00 entrance fee was well worth it to gain access to this amazing assortment of random artifacts (plus the trolley ride over was free). As soon as I got through the gates my ADD immediately kicked in; there was just so much to see! Should I start inside at the Antique Market? Or should I stay outside & weave through the tents? If I go inside should I start up in the balcony and work my way down? If I start outside should I do one side & then the other or should I start at one end & weave through the rows? I know, this might make me sound crazy, but trust me when I tell you – there is sooo much to see!…and you don’t want to miss any of it!

Randolph Street Market

I ultimately decided to start outside and here are some of the things I came across…

Randolph Street Market - Vintage Jewelry Spread

Vintage Jewelry Spread

Randolph Street Market - Old-Fashion Massage TableOld-Fashion Massage Table

Randolph Street Market - Vintage DecorVintage Home Decor

Randolph Street Market - African CarvingsAfrican Carvings

Randolph Street Market - Old-Fashion ChairOld-Fashion Chair

Randolph Street Market - Animal Bone RemainsAnimal Bone Remains

After a while I took a break to have lunch and sat & listened to an amazing acoustic set by The Vitrolum Republic. The Milwaukee-based band’s sounds are a combination of the styles folk, bluegrass, blues and gypsy tango, which they’ve coined “Gypsy Noir”. Look them up & listen to them…I bet you’ll like it too!

The Vitrolum Republic

I could have sat there all day long, but I still had more ground to cover – so I went inside…

Randolph Street Market - Antique MarketRandolph Street Festival – Antique Market

Randolph Street Market - Vintage Jewelry SpreadVintage Jewelry Spread

Randolph Street Market - Vintage VasesVintage Vases

All in all, I had an amazing day sifting through an eclectic mix of vintage jewelry & clothing, knick-knacks, reclaimed furniture and rare one-of-a-kind finds. I hopped back on the trolley it took me right back into this – the Magnificent Mile – one of the most known shopping Avenues in the world. Little do all of these people know that the real treasures are off this beaten path…and at the Randolph Street Market!

Michigan Ave Chicago Shopping

If you live in Chicago, or will be in the city while this is going on, I definitely suggest you check out the Randolph Street Market! You won’t be disappointed!

I’m not done ranting about my fabulous time @ the Randolph festival, but it’s getting too late for me to get into the rest…I’m tired from a long, hard day of shopping…and I need my rest. Goodnight!

2 responses to “Ranting about the Randolph Street Market

  1. Vintage Living Magazine

    It truly is a wonderful place! We did a post on it and interview with the market’s owner a while back. Thanks for sharing the great photos! :-)

  2. Pingback: Fashion Focus Chicago, 2012 | EXPRESS THRU DRESS

Leave a Reply

