Crown Me A Queen, I’ve Found my Colorful Bead-Encrusted Throne

I know I’ve already talked about the Randolph Street Market a lot, but there’s still one more vendor I want to mention. As I walked through the market I was captivated by this spectacular chest completely covered with colorful beads.

Yoruba Tribe - Beaded Chest

Yoruba Tribe - Beaded Chest

Yoruba Tribe - Beaded Chest

Yoruba Tribe - Beaded Chest

After talking with the curator of Woman Shops World, Carter Seibels Singh, I found out that the piece was several hundred years old from the Yoruba tribe near the Ibadan area of Nigeria. The chest joined a set of chairs that would have served as the throne for a king, and the King’s dress. All of the pieces were entirely encrusted with tiny seed beads intricately designed (assuming, hand done) in an imaginative motif.

Yoruba Tribe - King Dress & Throne

Yoruba Tribe - King Dress

Yoruba Tribe -  King Dress

Yoruba Tribe - King Throne

Yoruba Tribe - King Throne

So how do you put a price on unique found objects part of an indigenous peoples royalty? I’m not really sure, but just the set of chairs will set you back a mere $7,950.00. Tack on a couple more thousand for the chest, and the dress. A small price to pay for flamboyant furniture fit for a king. Someday…I say someday, I will be sitting on my own beaded throne in my home! :)

The aged beaded works of art weren’t all this vendor had to offer. Carter & her husband have accumulated quite the collection of beautiful beads, unusual charms, pendants and colorful textiles & trim from India, Africa and all around the world. Combining her love of shopping for unique things, she established Woman Shops World. Now, the couple offers buyers unique imports & artifacts they’ve cultivated from their travels that span across many borders.

Woman Shops World Vintage Vulcanite Record Beads Vintage Vinyl Record Beads from Africa

Woman Shops World Vintage Hmong Tribal TextileVintage Hmong Tribal Textile Embroidered Cotton Fabric

Here’s a link to her Etsy store, 10% of all proceeds go to V-Day, a global activist group to end violence against women.

Woman Shops World

Check it out!

3 responses to “Crown Me A Queen, I’ve Found my Colorful Bead-Encrusted Throne

  1. We would love to post the top photo at toemail if you do not mind? http://toemail.wordpress.com

    • Hello,
      Thanks for reaching out to me! I’m glad you enjoyed my blog. Yes, you can repost my photo – thank you for asking. Please let me know when you do and I’ll be sure to check out your content!

  2. It’s posted now. Thanks so much, we really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

