What’s Your Favorite Fashion Magazine?

September is one of the most important months when it comes to fashion magazines. Despite the print industry’s recent decline in numbers lately due to the ease of looking things up online; the mass media publications continue to produce text-size style guides for fall fashion.

September 2012 Fashion Magazine Covers - Vogue, Lucky, W Magazine, People Stylewatch..

“Fall Smartest Buys”, “629 NEW FALL LOOKS!” and “10 Trends You Can’t Live Without” are just some of the tag lines the glossies use to get you to buy when you’re standing in line at the checkout. The mags recap the runway shows, highlight the emerging fashion trends and offer great shopping tips & tricks for where to find the best buys for fall. They are the go-to guides for what to wear to ensure you’ll be in-style this upcoming season. Each one has its own format – mood boards, stylist’s insights, top 10 lists or pictorial examples.

Personally, I prefer People StyleWatch and Lucky magazine. It’s probably wrong of me to say this (being that I’m in the fashion industry), but I’m not a huge fan of Vogue. I often find all of the luxury advertisements and lengthy articles unappealing to flip through. I’m a very visual person and like to pull inspiration from the pictures I see, so all of that text sometimes turns me off. Also, at this time in my life, I don’t find myself in the same category as all of the luxury lines that typically cover the pages. Yes, I look to see what the high-fashion designers send down the runway every season, but I don’t have the bank account to actually afford buying into any of the collections. One day I’ll be able to buy the expensive lines…but right now, I’m just trying to make my rent!

I can’t wait to see the results!!!

P.S. I’m on the hunt for the August issue of People StyleWatch. I accidentally threw mine away before tearing out some pages I wanted for inspiration. And since the September issues have come out, I can’t find it anywhere! If anyone has one please let me know…

Leave a Reply

