My Sunday Funday at Renegade & Handmade

Yesterday was the first ‘Sunday Funday’ of the football season and after being dormant for months, egger jersey-clad sports fans were out in full force cheering on their favorite sports teams. While the downtown streets were filled with navy blue & orange polyester jerseys in support of the Bears playing at Soldier Field and the sounds of TV announcers & men cheering loudly streamed from open bar windows, I found myself on another end of town. Since I’m not a football fan, I spent my ‘Sunday Funday’ the fashionable way…at Renegade & Handmade – the arts & crafts street fair that was going on in Wicker Park.

Renegade & Handmade - Craft Fair Chicago

Naturally, I had to dress in theme for the festival, so I wrapped myself in the colorful patchwork crochet lap blanket that my mother made 30+ years ago out of all of her old yarn remnants  and recently reworked into a poncho for me.

Chambray Shirt with Colorful Crochet Poncho

Vendor tents lined Division Street for blocks creating an outdoor marketplace offering up detailed drawings, unique accessories, intricate works of art and distinctive clothing designs made by talented artists, sculptors, designers, and jewelry makers. It was a great opportunity for indie designers to get their name & work out there in the world and for those who attended to draw inspiration from the creative-minded. Here are a few snapshots I took while I was there…

Renegade & Handmade Craft Fair, Chicago 2012

Renegade Craft Fair - Chicago, 2012

Renegade Craft Fair - Chicago, 2012Renegade & Handmade Craft Fair Jewelry DisplayRenegade & Handmade Craft Fair Jewelry Display

Renegade Craft Fair - Chicago, 2012

A couple of my favorites were carved wooden rings, a one-of-a-kind trunk created from reclaimed wood ($1200), cute little crochet creations (which I’ll be passing along to my mom!) and tiny terrarium necklaces that thrive off a little sunlight & body heat.

Wooden Rings & Terrarium Necklaces

Renegade Craft Fair - Chicago, 2012

Renegade Craft Fair - Chicago, 2012

Of course I had to buy something to commemorate my first Chicago craft fest, so my friend and I purchased colorful pom-pom ball headbands that caught our eye – which we then wore around the rest of the day.

Me & Meliss POMPOM Heads

I noticed a couple second glances in our direction as we walked through the streets. With my giant pom poof and my colorful poncho, I’m sure people thought I was a weirdo. But then again, look who’s talking…they’re dressed up in their costumes too (aka jerseys) and talking back to a TV, so who are they to judge.

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

One response to “My Sunday Funday at Renegade & Handmade

  1. I need to to thank you for this wonderful read!! I absolutely enjoyed every bit of it.
    I have you book marked to look at new stuff
    you post…

Leave a Reply

