The Mullet Makes a Come Back..in a Much More Stylish Way

When you can’t decide between a flirty mini and flowy maxi don’t worry about it – just wear them both!

High-low hemlines were a huge trend during the summer season.  The asymmetrical silhouette, sometimes referred to as the ‘mullet style’, stands out by having a higher hem in front that slants lower in the back. The gradient can either be subtle or extreme; regardless, we’ve seen this sloping style show up on shirts, skirts, and everything in between.

I love the fun, fresh silhouette; it’s a new way to show off your legs, in an easy and playful way! Check out some of the trendsetting styles I wore this summer and how I transitioned them while styling my looks for fall looks…

High-low hem shirts - blue button-down, tan top, floral tankA number of the new shirts I bought this year donned shirttail hemlines that dipped lower in back. My blue floral print button-front top from Anthropologie has a tied-crop front and a contrasting polka-dot behind; and both my semi-sheer tan Cotton On top (I bought while in Cali for $5.00) and my floral print Free People tank top sit higher in front and drop lower in the rear.

Free People Charcoal Maxi Skirt & DressMy versatile Free People charcoal cascade maxi skirt can be pulled up and worn as a strapless dress that hits slightly higher in front during the summer.  Or, it can be worn as a long skirt with a trailing train for a layered look in fall.

Zara High-Low Floral DressI fell in love with this floral print high-low dress that I found at Zara (on sale for $29.99). I wore the keyhole open-back dress with sandals while the weather was warm; and now that the temperature has cooled down, I layer the dress with an ivory lace cardigan, stockings, and suede boots.

Free People Raglan Sleeve High-Low TopThe Free People raglan sleeve shirt I bought last year is still one of my favorites – I wear the graphic print top that has a slanted hem layered over a black maxi dress, underneath my new furry vest with leggings, or with a pair of colored skinny jeans.

Urban Outfitters light pink high-low lace maxi skirt

I’m still finding ways to wear this high-low light pink maxi skirt I found on sale at Urban Surplus this summer. I love the feminine skirt that has a lace trim hem that drags behind me when I walk. This may be my closest take on the ‘traditional wedding dress silhouette’; so I embrace this style on the sidewalk… because let’s face it, I won’t be walking down the aisle anytime soon. :)

What’s your take on this trend? Did you embrace the higher-in-front, lower-in-back style this summer? Or did you skip out on this trend and stick with a more classic silhouette?

2 responses to “The Mullet Makes a Come Back..in a Much More Stylish Way

  1. how did you end up styling the light pink maxi skirt from uo? i have the same one which i found in the sale section a LONG time ago and i still haven’t found a way to wear it without looking frumpy (although it could just be my body and not the skirt xP)

    • Hi Liz,

      Thanks for reaching out to me! I’m currently working on styling the light pink lace maxi a few more ways to hopefully give you some inspiration of your own! Be on the lookout for an upcoming post about other ways to style the skirt. Hope it helps…and as always, please let me know if you have any other questions!

      Thanks, Jill

Leave a Reply

