When the Flame Goes Out…

When shopping, I’ve gotten into the habit of looking at things and thinking what are all the ways I could wear this? Or, what are all of the ways I could potentially use this? It’s fun to do this when it comes to clothes – seeing if a maxi skirt can be pulled up & worn as a skirt, a blouse could be worn backwards, or if something can be layered on top to transform the way it looks. Here are a couple articles in my closet that I’ve converted in the past –

Free People Charcoal Maxi Skirt & Dress

Anthropologie Ivory Lace Button-Down Top

Urban Outfitters Light Blue Onesie

This can also be done when it comes to buying home décor. I’ve turned newspaper garland into a necklace, doilies into gift decals and old tin TV trays into artwork. But another thing I like to convert is candles.

Instead of buying the cheap convenient store candles that come in an ugly aluminum tin and barely let off an aroma, I like to splurge on the wax in decorative glass jars that you can smell the second you light the wick. Then, when the candles have been burned to the bottom, I reuse the containers they come in. Sure, the candles tend to be a bit more pricey, but the couple extra dollars I spend pay off in the end when I recycle the empty jars and put something else it them. It’s rather simple, when the majority of the candle has melted away, just pour out the wax and wash up the dish.

When washing out the jars, be sure to take note of the color coating on the containers. I scrubbed a little too hard and noticed the orange enamel came off one of my jars. Obviously, I wouldn’t want to use it to drink out of, but it’s great for decor! This was originally a candle I bought from Urban Outfitters a few years ago that I now use as a drinking glass.

Candle Converted into Drinking Cup

And another precautionary note– when discarding the hot wax…don’t dump it down the toilet! This may sound obvious to most, but I myself, was oblivious. After clearing out a couple of my candles this way, I noticed the water in my toilet was coming up…instead of going down when I flushed it. Oops! :) After a visit from my handy man (in which I acted completely unaware as to why my toilet was clogged) I had colorful collection of canisters to store stuff like coins, kitchen utensils and make-up brushes in.

DIY - Candles to Storage Containers

Candles are great in so many ways – After enjoying their fragrant smell you can use their containers to store things in forever! Here are a couple candles I’ll be adding to my collection because I love what the scented wax comes in…

Decorative Candles

What do you do with your candles when the flame goes out? Do you just throw them away? Or do you salvage them and store something else in them?

Oh, and by the way, I blamed all of the goop my maintenance man pulled from the plumbing on some face wash the must have “accidentally” fallen in the toilet and been flushed. I’m pretty sure I didn’t fool him…but I didn’t need him telling me what I did was dumb. I’m well aware of that…now.

3 responses to “When the Flame Goes Out…

  1. Keep this going please, great job!

  2. Good post, well written. Many thanks. I will be back soon to check
    out for updates. Cheers.

  3. It’s nearly impossible to find well-informed people on this subject, but you seem like you know
    what you’re talking about! Thanks

Leave a Reply

