Such a Busy Saturday: Modern Vintage Chicago & The XX

I must say – I had nice little Saturday for myself this past weekend :) I hit up two separate street markets and a show!

The Division Street market that pops up on my street corner every Saturday is still going on; and although I now have to layer up a little more to go down there and the berries & fresh flowers have been replaced with more appropriate harvest time treats, I look forward to my market…at least for a few more weeks!

Division Street Market

It’s no wonder why people from all over Chicago flock to the green city street markets – to stock up on organic meats, fresh produce, artisan breads & cheeses, flowers and many other goodies they can’t grow themselves. I’ve enjoyed my fair share of floral arrangements, lemon poppy seed bread, and beeswax soap; but something I haven’t had to buy from the market this fall is pumpkins & gourds. Every year my mom sends me a package full of mini orange & albino pumpkins and gourds with goofy growths on them – I love my home grown harvest décor fresh from my mom’s garden!

Pumpkins

After that I headed to Modern Vintage Chicago – an extension of the Randolph Street Market that takes place during the summer months.

Modern Vintage Chicago

The Modern Vintage Market is a smaller than the summer one and focused solely on clothing & accessories; but don’t be deceived…there was still a ton of stuff to look through! Once again, Plumbers Hall was packed with vintage vendors and indie designers sharing their unique finds & new designs to ambitious shoppers looking for something out of the ordinary. Here are some snapshots to give you an idea of all the goods that were on hand…..

Modern Vintage Chicago - ATM on Wheels An ATM truck outside to ensure shoppers have cash to pay the vendors (smart!)

Modern Vintage Chicago - Plumbers Hall An overview of Plumbers Hall – this was the main space, there was also a balcony and basement spaces dedicated to vendor booths. See…I said there was a ton of stuff to sift through!

Modern Vintage Chicago - Sterling Silver Jewelry

Modern Vintage Chicago - Jewelry

Modern Vintage Chicago - Jewelry

Modern Vintage Chicago - Cufflinks

Modern Vintage Chicago - Belt Buckles

Modern Vintage Chicago - Jewelry

Modern Vintage Chicago - Jewelry

Modern Vintage Chicago - Jewelry

Modern Vintage Chicago - Jewelry

Modern Vintage Chicago - Jewelry

Modern Vintage Chicago - Jewelry

Modern Vintage Chicago - Jewelry

Modern Vintage Chicago Each of these drawers was filled with vintage broaches, charms, jewelry and hair pieces! From animals, to acorns, to Christmas elves…I swear there was one of everything!!

Modern Vintage Chicago - Furs

Modern Vintage Chicago - Vintage Clothing

And I walked away with…

Modern Vintage Chicago - Sterling Silver JewelryA sterling silver cuff and ring.  I love that the turquoise stone hangs down lower on the wrist, I just think it makes it such a unique piece!

Black Leather Cuff with Center StoneAnd this amazing black leather cuff with a stunning center stone (don’t worry I’ll be elaborating on this more in another post!)

I was strongly considering buying this coral beaded necklace, but ended up passing on it. I couldn’t justify the $145.00 it had attached to it – the necklace was very delicate, and I don’t do well with delicate things. But I did love the bird beads – they were bright & beautifully hand-carved (which you an tell because each of the birds is a little different).

Modern Vintage Chicago - Hand-Carved Coral Beaded Bird NecklaceChances are…if this is there when I go back next month, those birds will be coming home with me :)

And after my afternoon of shopping, I still had a show to see! I went to see The XX perform at the Congress Theatre. I hadn’t heard of the band before so I went into the show having no idea what to expect….and I must say, I was pleasantly surprised by the English indie pop group. Their distinctive voices, whistling acoustics and lyrics of love reverberated throughout the theatre. We had a perfect spot on the balcony to see the show and be mesmerized by the music. Here’s a clip of the concert and a YouTube video of the song Angels. Some of their other popular songs are Crystalized, Shelter, and Heart Skipped a Beat. Check them out!

The XX - Congress Theatre Chicago

The XX - Congress Theatre Chicago

The xx – Angels – YouTube.

It was a very busy day…but a very fun one!!! Rarely do I get Saturdays off to do what I please, but after a successful trip to the market and discovering this new music group – I may have to reconsider my work schedule! Then again, the Randolph Street Market’s Holiday Market is coming up Nov. 17th-18th…so I better some earn some extra spending money :)

Randolph Street Market Holiday Market

For more pictures from the Modern Vintage Market check out my Express Thru Dress Facebook page by clicking the link here

Leave a Reply

