A Monochromatic Look: Inspired by Fifty Shades of Grey

Since the dress code at my job restricts me to wearing only the color black I often feel like my options are limited…and they are. One of the outfits I sport is a look I like to call “Five Shades of Grey.” Although I haven’t read the explicit novel everyone’s been talking about, I was inspired by the best-selling book, Fifty Shades of Grey, to put together this ensemble that incorporates various degrees of the dark hue. Check it out…

A Monochromatic Look:  Inspired by Fifty Shades of Grey

A Monochromatic Look:  Inspired by Fifty Shades of Grey

What does your dress code require you to wear? How do you feel about it?

Personally, I hate being confined to only one color; and I’ve said it many times before, I hate the color black. But with this look, I figure, as long as it’s a ‘form of black’ it is acceptable :)

A Monochromatic Look: Inspired by Fifty Shades of Grey

  1. The handbag – grey is technically a shade of black…with a lot of white added to it
  2. The tank top – legit black
  3. The Free People striped trapeze shirt – faded black
  4. The scarf – legit black
  5. The leather boots – again, a lighter rendition of the color

After reading a short synopsis of the book and researching the tonal translations behind the color gray, I found some interesting similarities between the color theories and the suggestive title. One theory suggests the color gray can be used to describe situations that have no clear moral value; while another approach indicates that the ethical sense behind the meaning of ‘shades of grey’ represents the varying magnitudes of good & bad.

The Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy follows the sensual affair between Christian Grey, a brilliant, intimidating good-looking bachelor with progressive erotic tastes and Anastasia Steele, a young, self-doubting girl who is rather reserved. The two find each other’s opposing qualities both intriguing & irresistible and they ultimately become involved in an intense, turbulent relationship.

Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy

Correlation between color theory & content…I think so! I must say, I was intrigued by the book everyone’s been reading and pick myself up a copy of the popular paperback.

Have you read the passionate romance novel yet?         

Leave a Reply

