Winterizing my Home with Seasonal Decor

The Holidays have now come & gone; and even though it’s just a couple days after Christmas, some people don’t waste any time taking down their tree and packing their stockings & snowmen back in storage. It’s understandable if your once plush pine is now shedding needles, but since my tiny twig tree doesn’t have that issue, I think I’ll keep it up for a little while longer. In fact, I really like the redecorating I’ve done this season. I put up a Christmas tree every year, but this year, I must have had a bit more Christmas cheer because I put a little more effort into decorating my home for the Holidays.

Between the tiny trinkets stuffed in my stocking, the treasures I’ve found during the day after Christmas sale (I’ll touch on that next), or ornaments on top of gifts, every year I accumulate more & more Holiday décor. Since the seasonal stuff I have doesn’t quite coordinate, I’ve decorated my home similar to how you would merchandise a store – every shelf is something different and each little cluster has a concept that carries it through. Here’s a look at how I Winterized my home this year to “keep the Spirit on Scott Street”…

Urban Outfitters Silver Tinsel Christmas Tree

I retired the silver tinsel tree that’s been my Christmas tree in the past in exchange this…my Charlie Brown Christmas tree! A few weeks ago I shared with you how I made my own Christmas tree out of branches I picked up in the park (to read that post click here). I love it so much I might not take it down. I’ll just swap out the Christmas ornaments with the next holiday’s trim and keep it up all year long!

Seasonal Decor: My Charlie Brown Christmas Tree

My true love didn’t give me 7 swans-a-swimming, 6 geese-a-laying, 4 calling birds, 3 French hens, 2 turtle doves or a partridge in a pear tree during the 12 days of Christmas; but the old sheet music “song birds” I received last year make the perfect pair. Along with my vintage paisley silk scarf and collection of silver mercury glass, one must always “Believe” in the miracle of Christmas.

Seasonal Decor: Silver Mercury Glass and Vintage Song Birds

Seasonal Decor: Silver Mercury Glass and Vintage Song Birds

Seasonal Decor: Believe in the Miracle of Christmas

“Santa’s Little Helpers” – Next to my CB2 silver candle holders, my little nephew makes the cutest Christmas elf. Crate & Barrel knit ceramic vases are an added textural touch.

Seasonal Decor: CB2 Elf Candle Holders & Cable Knit Ceramic Vases

“Frosty & Friends” – I received my family of crochet snowmen from my grandmother last Christmas. Handmade gifts from the heart make the best gifts of all!

Seasonal Decor: Handmade Crochet Snowmen

Among my Anthropologie rolled paper garland and glittery gold pine cones, my gold mercury glass candles (especially when lit) add a glimmer of hope during the Holiday season.

Seasonal Decor: Newspaper Garland, Glittery Pine Cones, & Gold Mercury Glass

Seasonal Decor: Newspaper Garland, Glittery Pine Cones, & Gold Mercury Glass

“Walking in a Winter Wonderland” – Some may say my felted wool tree from Anthropologie looks like an upside-down mop head, but I love it. It’s a subtle wintertime touch; and together with my pussy willows & peacock feathers, it makes the perfect place to cozy up on the couch with a cup of hot cocoa and read my book of love poems by Pablo Neruda.

Seasonal Decor: Anthropologie Felted Wool Christmas Tree

“Deck the Walls with Balls of Jolly” – I strung my colorful fabric garland from Crate & Barrel and tied multi-colored ornaments from my lace curtains. I’ll admit – at first it was fun to stringing my little Christmas balls randomly among the lace, but when I was still doing it an hour later I lost a little of my cheer. Still, I love walking in the door and seeing the vibrate decoration in my floor-to-ceiling windows with the city lights of Chicago peeking through from behind.

Seasonal Decor: Colorful Garland & Christmas Bulbs Window Decor  Seasonal Decor: Colorful Garland & Christmas Bulbs Window Decor

Seasonal Decor: Colorful Garland & Christmas Bulbs Window Decor

How do you get in the spirit of the season? Are you the type of person who turns on Christmas carols the day after Thanksgiving while you decorate your home for the Holidays? Or are you an Ebenezer Scrooge and avoid Christmas altogether?

One response to “Winterizing my Home with Seasonal Decor

  1. Hi there! I just wish to give you a big thumbs up for the great information you have right here on this post. I am returning to your blog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

