Breaking News: Missoni is Missing!

I typically get all of my fashion industry insight by reading my daily installment of WWD; but today it was WGN (Chicago News) that shocked me with a particularly sad breaking news story.

Vittorio Missoni, the commercial & marketing director of Missoni fashion house, is missing after the small plane he was traveling in disappeared off the coast of Venezuela. Vittorio & his wife, Maurizia Castiglioni, were vacationing with longtime friends on the Los Roques archipelago; shortly after taking off from the islands on Friday their plane went off radar and never reached its final destination. A search & rescue operation is currently underway for the aircraft and six passengers.

Vittorio Missoni

Missoni, which was founded in 1953 by Ottavio & Rosita Missoni, has become one of Italy’s most influential fashion houses with estimated annual sales of $75 – $100 million. Vittorio, along with his siblings, Luca and Angela, took over the brand in 1996 and focused their attention on marketing toward a younger consumer.

Missoni is most known for its patterned knitwear and signature zigzag print. The high-end label can be found hanging in any many celebrities and fashionistas’ closets – and following their partnership with Target in 2011, Missoni might even be hanging in yours! (That is, if you were lucky enough to get your hands on it – thousands of people lined up at Target stores across the country when the line’s budget-friendly collection was released and the website crashed due to such high demand) Here are a couple of my favorite looks from label’s past runway collections…

Missoni Fall 2010 RTW CollectionFall 2010 Ready-to-Wear Collection

Missoni Fall 2010 RTW CollectionFall 2011 Ready-to-Wear Collection

Missoni Fall 2012 RTW CollectionFall 2012 Ready-to-Wear Collection

As I mentioned in one of my original posts, MISSONI…My Fav, Missoni is, by far, my favorite fashion label. If I had to wear one designer for the rest of my life it would be Missoni. I feel my general personal style embodies the free-spirit, bohemian vibe of the iconic brand. The label is a staple in my seasonal trend report and I often look to the brand for styling inspiration. And remember…I even had my mom recreated a multi-colored zigzag crochet wrap – with Missoni as my muse!

Missoni-inspired Zigzag Crochet Wrap

My thoughts & prayers go out to the Missoni family and the families of those who are missing. As the search continues, may hope remain that all will be reunited soon.

Sources: www.style.com, Missing Fashion Mogul Vittorio Missoni’s Sister Speaks Out on Her Brother’s Disappearance: “We Will Not Give Up”, Plane carrying Italian fashion heir Missoni missing off Venezuela

One response to “Breaking News: Missoni is Missing!

  1. Reblogged this on lace and leopard and commented:
    Missing Missoni

Leave a Reply

