Burr it was Cold out Today!…but I Stayed Warm Styling my Burgundy Stretch Pants

Today was a bright, but very brisk day here in Chicago, so after my morning workout I decided to stay out of the cold and play with my clothes. I spent my much needed day off styling some of the new stuff I’ve bought over the last couple weeks and bonding with Lola (also long overdue). I had such a lovely day of putting looks together – letting one pair of pants transition from one outfit to the next, taking snapshots and being inspired along the way Its days like this that reinvigorate my styling sense; since sadly, I don’t get to wear 90% of what I own (pathetic, I know, but I’m banned to wearing only black where I work) I love to I challenge myself to reach inside my closet and create a couple different outfits with what I pick. So now, after writing what I have to say & editing the photos of my ensembles underneath my electric blanket, here’s a glimpse at my day of staying warm & working with my wardrobe.

I debated over buying the Seams Cool Knit Leggings from Free People for months – I think I tried on the deep red riding pants every time I went into a FP Boutique but was never 100% sold on them.

Free People Seams Cool Knit Leggings

It wasn’t the fit, the feel, or the price…but rather, I just couldn’t rationalize buying a pair of burgundy pants when all I wear nowadays is black. But when I spotted them on sale while shopping last month when I was distraught over my missing dress, what can I say – I was swayed :) On sale + my additional appreciation discount, means I only spent $19.99 on the stretchy pants (originally $78.00)! Check them out…

Free People Burgundy Pants w Charcoal Striped ShirtWorn with a Free People charcoal striped shirt and Holding Horses lace-up military boots from Anthropologie

Free People Burgundy Pants w Graphic Thermal & Fur VestWorn with a Free People graphic thermal & furry vest and Steve Madden riding boots

Free People Burgundy Pants w Chambray Shirt & Knit ScarfWorn with an ivory layering tank, Free People chambray shirt, an Urban Outfitters kiwi knit scarf and Steve Madden ivory lace-up boots

Free People Burgundy Pants w Graphic High-Low ShirtWorn with a Free People graphic print high-low top and black leather lace-up buckle boots

Free People Burgundy Pants w Gold Sequin BlazerWorn with a grey layering tank, a Gypsy Junkies gold sequin blazer and Diba black booties from AKIRA Footwear 

Free People Burgundy Pants w Silk/Cotton Top & Fur VestWorn with an Anthropologie ivory silk & cotton top, Arden B. brown fur vest and Steve Madden ivory boots

Free People Burgundy Pants w Anthro Kiwi Knit PonchoWorn with an Anthropologie kiwi knit poncho and Steve Madden riding boots

I still have several other ways I wanted to style my new stretch pants with…but I was side-tracked with some other outfits I came up with. Perhaps on my next day off, when it’ll probably be too cold to go out again, I’ll stay inside & style the rest.

In the meantime…

Leave a Reply

