Grecian Goddess, Global Traveler & Glam Rock – the Many Looks of my New Maxi…

Speaking of $30.00 steals…I came across another fabulous find for $30 last month during my employee appreciation bonus time! During a trip to the Free People boutique in the Watertower Place I came across a single ‘True Romance Maxi Dress’ hanging in the sale section. And even though it was a size 10, I decided to try it on. (I’m not intimidated by what’s on the tag. I know my body type & what silhouettes work for me; I buy anything from a size 25 to an XL – fit is what’s most important, not the number that’s hidden inside the hem.) And when I did, I was pleasantly surprised with what I saw!

Free People True Romance Maxi Dress

The two-toned gold chiffon maxi dress has an intricately braided, bead embellished keyhole front & back. An elastic waistband gives shape to the flowy drape of the crinkled chiffon dress and a pleated two-tiered hem adds yet another textural element. I gotta say…I kinda felt like a Grecian goddess in this dress! The friendly girls at FP liked it too – they even put my photo on their Instagram feed.

Me on Free People Instagram Feed

It’s a little big in the waist, but simply tightening up the interior elastic band is a quick & easy fix. Even with the added cost of alterations, I still saved tons on this feminine floor-length frock. Originally $228.00, I only spent about $35  after my additional discount on sale stuff.  The generous discount I receive for working at Anthropologie in general is well worth my time on the sales floor, but when I get an additional percentage off already marked-down merchandise it’s an even better perk!

Check out some of the ways I’ve styled my brand-new boho gown…

Free People Chiffon Maxi with Floral Print Cardigan

Free People Chiffon Maxi with Floral Print Cardigan

This is the outfit I tried on in the store – the Free People floral print cardigan layered over the chiffon maxi and Anthropologie olive beaded beanie keep me cozy while my Steve Madden riding boots complete the look.

Free People Chiffon Maxi with Wanderer Belt

Free People Chiffon Maxi with Wanderer Belt

If I don’t get the chance to cinch the elastic waist in the dress I can just belt it for a quick fix. My Free People belt worn backwards let’s everyone know what this prairie princess is – a wanderer. And the Aldo olive green suede boots will let her do just that!

Free People Chiffon Maxi with Chambray Shirt & Moto Jacket

Free People Chiffon Maxi with Chambray Shirt & Moto Jacket

This layered look has tones of texture to it! Here I’ve layered a Free People chambray shirt over the chiffon maxi and topped it with an Arden B. leather moto jacket. Burgundy leather boots from Urban Outfitters peak out on the bottom and complete a color combination I love – goldenrod, denim & deep red.

Free People Chiffon Maxi and Chiffon Slip

Free People Chiffon Maxi and Chiffon Slip

I don’t quite know how I feel about this outfit – it’s a lot of chiffon!! But, the golden hues of the dress coordinate perfectly with the colors in the Urban Outfitters antique-motif chiffon fringe topper. The braided leather belt breaks up the head-to-toe chiffon ensemble and gives shape to the flowy silhouette.  What’s your take on the outfit? Sheer madness!! Or have I just gone mad?

Free People Chiffon Maxi with Black Studded Belt & Boots

Free People Chiffon Maxi with Black Studded Belt & Boots

I love adding edgy elements to ultra-feminine ensembles; and here, goddess goes glam rock! The black leather belt is a bold contrast against the sheer material of the dress and the gold studs around the waist match those that are sewn in along the neck. My hard-core Free People black leather lace-up buckle boots have this goddess going to a rock concert, rather than the opera.

Free People Chiffon Maxi, Velvet Blazer & Patchwork Booties

Free People Chiffon Maxi, Velvet Blazer & Patchwork Booties

My Jeffery Campbell ‘Lita’ booties act like (and look like!) a kaleidoscope that this spectrum of style reflects upon. The colorful patchwork leather boots compile the shades that are throughout the rest of the ensemble. I’ve belted the two-toned gold dress with a peacock feather belt and topped it with my Free People burgundy velvet blazer. The collection of colors and rich texture is refined; add-in the funky booties, and you’ve got a fashion renegade!

Now that you’ve seen my new maxi dress styled a couple different ways, which look do you like best? Send me a comment with your #1. I can’t wait to see which one pick!

2 responses to “Grecian Goddess, Global Traveler & Glam Rock – the Many Looks of my New Maxi…

  1. Pingback: IT’S SHEER GENIUS! | style me ceo

  2. I think so many people restrict themselves by size. I am glad that you didn’t let the size written inside the hem stop you from finding an amazing gem like this dress. Super cute!

Leave a Reply

