ReCreate the Look: Florals From the Front Page of WWD

The moment I pulled this issue of WWD out of my mailbox I was instantly inspired to recreate the look photographed on the front page!

Outfit Inspiration: Floral Top & Burgundy Bottoms from WWD

Of course, it was January back then and with temperatures in the teens & snow still on the ground “the very idea of spring” was far from my mind. That wasn’t the case for Reif Simons, as that thought was the premise around his Dior Haute Couture collection for Spring 2013. But now that the snow has melted & the weather is getting warmer it’s time for me to start styling outfits for spring! So I simulated the floral top & burgundy bottoms ensemble seen on the cover with something from my own closet. Check it out…

WWD Outfit Inspiration - Florals & Burgundy

Golden daisies bloom from the white background of the  perforated lightweight sweater from Anthropologie; sure, it’s not identical to the individual organza petals that flourish from the couture top…but the color schemes within both shirts is consistent. A match to the cigarette trousers on the model, a pair of burgundy knit stretch pant from Free People completes my look. I couldn’t decide between my Minnetonka Moccasin cognac suede fringe lace-up boots or my Steve Madden cognac leather tall boots; but either way – the duplicate is done!

Anthro Floral Top & Free People Burgundy Bottoms

I photographed the look using the effects on my Android camera phone to capture a more accurate representation of the outfit because my regular camera didn’t quite project the correct colors, but here are those photos as well…

Spring Outfit - Floral Top & Burgundy Bottoms

Spring Outfit - Floral Top & Burgundy Bottoms Close-Up

Spring Fashion Inspiration - Floral Top & Burgundy Bottoms Outfit Layout

Spring Outfit - Floral Top & Burgundy Bottoms Detail Shot

So what do you think of my rendition of the runway outfit? A close comparison…or a bad couture copycat?

One response to “ReCreate the Look: Florals From the Front Page of WWD

  1. Pingback: My 2013 spring outfit | Pretty Nizy

Leave a Reply

