Memorial Day Weekend with my Fam!

I hope you all had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend! My family came down from Minnesota for the extended Holiday weekend and we spent it exploring the city of Chicago. On Saturday we went down to my Division street market in the morning to get some fresh pastries for breakfast. Then we walked through Lincoln Park to the zoo so my niece could see all the animals.

Strolling through Lincoln Park

Strolling through Lincoln ParkSally the Camel had 2 humps

At the Zoo - LionSimba

Me As an AnimalGoofing off in the gift shop :)

At night we rode the Ferris wheel overlooking the lit up city skyline and caught the first fireworks show of the summer at Navy Pier.

Family in Front of Ferris Wheel

City Skyline at NightSuch a pretty city!

Fireworks

On Sunday I took them to the Randolph Street Market. They’ve heard me talk about my market a lot, so I was very excited that they got to experience it themselves; plus, this was the first month it was indoors and outdoors so there was twice as much stuff! I think they fell in love with the flea market just like I did – in fact, my mom even said, “We better slow down, we’ve only been here for five minutes and we’ve already bought folding chairs & a bird cage!” She was right! We spent a couple hours strolling the aisles of stuff and I got a chance to catch up with some of the outdoor vendors I met last summer to hear about their worldly travels and exciting new stuff they have for this season.

At Randolph Street Market

In the evening we walked to Grant Park to see the geyser shoot up from Buckingham Fountain and found our reflections in ‘the Bean’ at Millennium Park.

Running in Grant Park GardensRunning in Grant Park Gardens

Being Silly by the fountainJumping…

Skipping by the FountainSkipping…

Me Gargling the GieserGargling…

Hanging in the ParkWaiting for the Geyser to start!

At Buckingham Fountain (3)

At the Bean (2)Find us in the Bean

Me in the Bean

At Millenium Park Gardens

Cow in the CityProving to Papa there are cows in the city!

Yesterday, we went to brunch at one of my favorite spots, Orange with A Peel; every time I have visitors in town I always take them to Orange for breakfast. The Fruity Pebble pancakes are my personal fav, but they also have their famous “Frushi” (fruit sushi) and a weekly flight series of four specialty pancakes. The theme this time was “At the Movies”:  1. Popcorn – pancakes topped with home-made popcorn topped with white & dark chocolate ganache & caramel whipped cream, 2. Icee – cherry pancakes topped with cherry whipped cream & a chocolate wafer roll, 3. Treats – Pancakes with crunch bits inside topped with cookies & cream whipped cream, and 4. Nachos – Pancakes topped with mango glaze, diced kiwi and cinnamon-sugar tortilla chips. Anyone who knows me knows I have a giant sweet tooth, so this was an obvious choice for me! But for once, I just couldn’t ingest another ounce of sugar and after a couple bites, I had to order a side of scrambled eggs instead.

IMAG5711

I think the poppy seed pastry, bag of cotton candy at the zoo, cheesecake, salt water taffies, and cannoli I had over the weekend might have had something to do with it!

Eating Cotton Candy

After we ate I sent my family on their way and went home to clean up the aftermath of 3 adults & a 3-year-old staying in my studio apartment :) I had so much fun time spending the weekend with my family! I hope you all enjoyed your long weekend as well!

One response to “Memorial Day Weekend with my Fam!

  1. I was once more than pleased to seek out this internet-site.I needed to thanks in your time for this glorious study!! I undoubtedly enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to verify out new things you weblog post.

Leave a Reply

