Time Flies When You’re Having Fun…I Can’t Believe Summer’s Almost Half Done!

Hey there blog buddies!

First off, I want to apologize for being absent lately! I can’t believe it’s already mid-July and that it’s been almost a month since I published my last post :/ The start of summer got the best of me and I just haven’t had much spare time to sit down & share what I’ve been up to with you. I often wish there were a few more hours in the day so I could get a couple more things done; but since that’s not going to change, I’ll try to be better about setting aside time to blog on a more regular basis again. In the meantime, here’s what I’ve been up to so far this summer…

I’ve been trying to dedicate some of my downtime to working on the handbags for my new collection, curated & carried. I can’t even begin to explain the excitement I feel when one is close to completion! From the initial scavenger hunt at vintage shops, to matching up random materials in a way that works, heck, even the time it takes to stitch the inside label – the entire process is always something different and always something fun! Here are some styles I’m working on…

IMAG2466

curated & carried latch-hook satchel

curated & carried sailboat satchel

Feed Sac Yoga Mat Sac (1)

I’ve also been fiddling around with some sketches and leather swatches lately. I made a braided bracelet for my friend for his birthday and have a couple other accessories in the works…

Accessories Sketches

Braided Leather Bracelet

About a month ago marked the beginning of my summer music festival madness :) On the 14th, I got my wristband for WaveFront Beachside Music Festival in the mail. On the 15th, I impulsively purchased a Sunday pass for Pitchfork Music Festival – R. Kelly & M.I.A. anyone? And on Sunday the 16th, in the spur-of-the-moment, my co-worker & I decided to use our boss’s VIP passes to go see Calvin Harris close out Spring Awakening, Chicago’s Premier Electronic Dance Music Festival. Here are some of my snapshots from Spring Awakening…

      Free People WILDCARD

Spring Awakening (2)

Spring Awakening (1)

Spring Awakening (6)

Spring Awakening (5)

Spring Awakening (3)

Spring Awakening (4)

I also made a quick trip back to Minnesota for a friend’s wedding. I spent the weekend with my fam, went to the lake, browsed my favorite antique store, and caught up with some friends. I must say – there’s nothing like a free corn feed or walking away from a store with a full bag and an IOU to remind you what it’s like to live in a small town…and realize that there still are pleasant people out there!

leahs wedding

I went to a picnic in the park on the 4th for a barbeque and to play Frisbee…had a friend in town last weekend for WaveFront…cheered on my security co-workers at their softball game…and of course, went to Randolph Street Market which rolled around again. I’ll show you my pics from perusing the vintage market in a follow-up post (and soon, I promise!)

Picnic in the Park

Dirt Whistlers softball game

MeMerPeteratWaveFront  WaveFront Music Festival (2)

WaveFront Music Festival (1)

WaveFront Music Festival (3)

WaveFront Music Festival (4)

WaveFront Music Festival (5)

WaveFront Music Festival (6)

Sadly, now that my month of hot yoga is over (which I fell in love with by the way) I wanted to find another fun fitness activity to do this summer, so I signed up for hula-hooping in the park. It starts next week and I can’t wait!!!

And finally, my most recent endeavor is an intricate embroidery portfolio project I’m working on. I conceptualized the idea in my mind, drew up the design, and slowly, but surely, am filling up the blank canvas I began with with a colorful crewel creation. No joke – I stitch when I wake-up, when I wait for the bus, when I’m at work (shhh…don’t tell my boss!) and before I go to bed! Literally, everywhere I go, I’ve got my needle-and-thread!

Embroidery Portfolio Project

With my work schedule and all of this going on, I’ve barely been able to spend any time up at my swimming pool! :(

IMAG6182

Hopefully summer is off to a good start for all of you and you’ve been able to better balance your obligations & time under the sun! What’s on your summer to-do list that you’re still looking forward to?

Leave a Reply

