Turning Over a New Fashion Leaf this Fall!

As the days get shorter & shorter, the temperature continues to cool, and leaves begin to change colors, the sunny days of seem as though they were soooo long ago! Now that we’ve got these first few weeks of fall under our belts, I’m taking time during this transitional time, to refocus on my fashion blog.

I was really bad about blogging this summer for a number of reasons: 1) I spent as much time outside as I could soaking up the sun – summer is so short in Chicago the way it is, so it’s important to enjoy the beautiful weather while you can. Because before you know it, it’s over and we’re reaching for our winter coats once again (much like I did weeks ago!) 2) I was busy working on a couple of other little projects, like my embroidery project (that gets more & more elaborate each time I work on it) and some geode stone jewelry. 3) I had a mental block. I just couldn’t seem to find the right words to say when trying to write about what I wore. And 4) I started a new styling position with a small image consulting firm – now putting me back up to juggling 3 jobs (in turn, leaving me with even less free time); but I really can’t complain – because I’m loving it so far!

But that’s all about to change! Because fall is my favorite season when it comes to fashion! I love styling for this season for many reasons: 1) I love the warm, muted hues & rich, spicy earth tones associated with autumn. 2) I love cuddling up in thick cozy knits and the other soft, heavier-hand fabrics distinctive during this time of year. And 3) I love adding on the additional layers (for styling purposes…not necessarily the need to stay warm!) More clothing means more options to work with – a chance to play around with different patterns, form unique color combinations, and add interesting textures to my outfits.

I’m reinvigorated, re-inspired, and no longer at a loss for words when it comes to talking about my wardrobe. So as the leaves begin to fall this Fall, I’m turning over a new fashion leaf!

While the warm days of summer whittle away in our minds & we move closer to winter, what motivates you during the bleak months ahead?

Oh…and here’s a peak at those projects I was talking about :)

IMAG9951Playing around with some stones, leather & animal bones!

Remember when my embroidery project was just a blank canvas?…

embroidery-portfolio-project

Look how far I’ve come! And to think…I’m almost done!

IMAG9956

IMAG9967

IMAG9975

Leave a Reply

