My Magical Halloween

I hope you all had a spook-tacular Halloween! I wanted to touch base to see if any of you donned costumes during the spirited time of year known for dressing up! I realize I’m a little late in posting this – after all, All Hallows’ Eve was almost a week ago. But, I had a busy weekend with visitors in town and didn’t get around to publishing a post; so even though it’s a little late, I’m still going to share it with you. Better late than never right? :)

I haven’t dressed up for Halloween in a couple years, but decided this year I was going to transform myself into a mystical unicorn for our annual Halloween event at work. However, I didn’t want to just go to the costume store to get my playful pony gear, so instead I came up with this unique unicorn uniform…

 IMAG9911-1

I bought a bright blue long-sleeved Latex bodysuit, tied a long blonde wig to my backside for a tail, and got a little crafty in making my own satin & sequin horn to put atop my head. After teasing my hair into a hot pink mohawk for a mane and framing my face with sparkly paint, I think I actually pulled off the mystical creature quite well! And with clunky black booties acting as ‘hooves’, you can rest assure, I galloped wherever I went while wearing this get-up :)

I'm a Unicorn

What do you think? Can you tell I’m a unicorn?

unicorn 1

Here’s a quick look at how I made my horn…

Step 1: Cut fabric in the shape of a cone and stitch it along the side seam.

IMAG9842

IMAG9866

Step 2: Flip it inside out.

IMAG9873

Step 3: Fill it with fluff so it stays up.

IMAG9878

Step 4: Sew it shut and secure it to a headband.

IMAG9880

IMAG9886

Step 5: Decorate it however you desire!

IMAG9896 

Did you get creative with your costume? Or did you simply stop at a pop-up shop for a polyester prototype? Send me a comment…better yet, a photo, and let me know!!!

Leave a Reply

