When Life Stresses Me Out, My Market Keeps Me Sane

Some people go to the gym to blow off some steam, others get manis, pedis, or massages to decompress from stress; I – go shopping. My life has been feeling quite hectic lately: there’s always somewhere I have to be, something I have to do, and 10 things I wish I would’ve gotten done before the day is through.

Sunday’s are my one free day during the week to play catch-up on stuff or do whatever I please. Conveniently, the Randolph Street Holiday Market was happening this last weekend, so Sunday, I set aside everything I had to do and spent my ‘me’ day at my favorite market. :) It felt nice to disregard my ‘to do’ list for the day and get lost among unique pieces from the past. A few hours of looking at fabulous furs, drowning yourself in drawers of amazing accessories, and sorting through interesting vintage oddities…and you’d forget about the stress of all you have to do too! See for yourself…

  Fabulous Furs

Dior Fur (1)

Dior Fur (2)Wanna drop $3500 on Dior?

                                                                            Drowned in DrawersDrawers upon drawers to go through!

Seeing GreenFilled with all kinds of accessories to try on :)

Vintage Findings

Gold Accessories

IMAG9694

Bunch of Vintage Bracelets

IMAG0432

After juggling jobs & running around all week, there’s nothing better than spending the day by myself – doing my own thing, at my own pace, with no one to report to, and no place I got to be. Simply searching…searching for tiny treasures hidden among all the random things :)

Skinned Zebra Rug (1)

Skinned Zebra Rug (3)Skinned Zebra rug, complete with eye socket still attached anyone? Only $1000!

Tiny People PotsTiny People Pots

Turtle ShellsTurtle shells?!?

Cork Handbags (2)

Cork Handbags (3)Cool Cork Handbags!

It never fails…I always find something! Check out the neat pieces I got this month –

Vintage Fish Pendant

Vintage Fish Pendant (2)

Vintage Fish Pendant (3)Here fishy fishy! This colorful fish pendant looks kind of like a lure found in a tackle box, and it flops back & forth like the real thing.

 Sterling Silver Poison Ring (2)

Sterling Silver Poison Ring (1)This is a poison ring – the top opens up & the center of the ring is actually a small secret compartment!

(It only seemed fitting to use the artistic vintage floral design on my daily planner as a background for the pictures in this post :)

Shopping probably isn’t the best way to relieve stress; (in fact, if you do too much of it it’s probably the cause of some of your stress) but I’d pass up a pedicure & polish change to peruse my market any day of the week. And rest assured, I wouldn’t trade in any of my one-of-a-kind finds for a few miles on the treadmill!!

What’s your stress reliever when you’re feeling bogged down by life?

Leave a Reply

