Bundling Up in my Big Beige Scarf to Brave the Cold

I hope you managed to warm yesterday wherever you are!!! The Midwest has turned into a frozen tundra & it is not pleasant! The city of Chicago pretty much shut down yesterday with the record-setting temperatures falling down to -16°…with wind chills in the -50’s. The bone-chilling sub-zero temps made venturing outside extremely dangerous; so as advised, I worked from home yesterday…along with many others, I’m sure! I must say – it was rather convenient taking my conference call while cozied up under blankets on my couch, with the heat cranked up & a cup of hot cocoa in my hand!

I started to get a little antcy by mid-afternoon, so I decided to see for myself just how cold it was outside. I made it as far as the corner store & thought “forget this!” Even with my Sorel’s, stallion sweater, quilted coat, big beige scarf, knit hat & mis-matched mitts I didn’t make it more than a block! (I have a tendency to loose gloves leaving me with a bunch of onesies. But when it’s this cold, who cares if you coordinate…I just went with the warmest ones!)

 Bundled Up

The newest addition in my cold-weather collection that’s keeping me warm this winter is my big beige scarf I got from Santa…

 IMG_3496

Actually, I sent this Pinterest picture & some measurements to my mom a couple months ago to see if she could crochet a clone of it.

Pinspiration - Beige Scarf

She passed the project along; and with 5 skeins of yarn, 1 talented grandma made me this stunning 8 ft x 1½ ft scarf…it only took her 12 hours! The neutral color, gigantic size, fringe trim, even down to the cable-detailing down the center pockets, she did a phenomenal job duplicating this design! Don’t you think?!

 Bundle Up to Brave the Cold

Here I am all bundled up before I went out – I look just like the lady in the photo… + a few more layers!! I’m obsessed with my new scarf – its almost like I leave the house with an afghan wrapped around me :) It also kept me warm while I was working outside on New Year’s Eve.  Not exactly how I expected to spend my night (would’ve went with snow pants instead of a dress had I known)…but at least I was in good company.

 NYE Pic

With today’s temp only climbing up to a high of 5° today the outlook is still a bit bleak. I think I’ll hibernate at home again – I’d rather come down with a case of cabin fever then run the risk of getting frostbite. :)

Have a good day everyone…& stay warm out there!

One response to “Bundling Up in my Big Beige Scarf to Brave the Cold

  1. Your styling is right up my alley! I found you by googling ways to wear a tiered dress. I’ll be a regular reader going forward.

Leave a Reply

