Recaping My Trip to Cali

Hello again!
Well, I’m back in Chi after an amazing trip to Cali. The weather was perfect and the scenery was beautiful! I had so much fun out on the West Coast and wanted to share some snapshots I took while I was out there with you guys….

Greetings from California

We spent some time on Hollywood Blvd; strolling the ‘Walk of Fame’ scanning the many celebrities honored with stars in the cement along the sidewalk. We passed by the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, the el Capitan and the world-famous Grauman’s Chinese Theatre, where many premiers are held. In fact, the day we went they were preparing for the LA premiere of the Will Ferrell & Zach Galifianakis movie, “The Campaign” that evening. The red carpet was rolled out, red, white, and blue stars & stripes were hung, and the barricades were set in place. Given the confused crowd of people and commotion that was already occurring during the early afternoon, I can only imagine the chaos that must take ensue when the rich & famous congregate. I reached my tourist threshold and we left shortly after; I’d had enough of people wandering aimlessly, stopping in the middle of the street, and cutting me off for a photo opp.

Hollywood Hills Sign

Marilyn Monroe Hollywood 'Walk of Fame' Star

One afternoon we drove to Santa Monica. We walked the pier and shopped along the Third Street Promenade. The beachfront views were stunning and the specialty boutiques offered something other than the streamlined stores along Michigan Avenue I’m used to.

Santa Monica Pier

Santa Monica Beachfront

Me in Santa Monica

Santa Monica Pier & Beachfront

On Friday & Saturday night we went downtown to LA Historic Park for Hard Fest; a 2-day, 4-stage electronic music festival. WOWza, is all I can say!! By far the best concert experience I’ve had to date. Aside from a few creeps in the crowd and having to elbow check a couple people dancing (maybe more accurately convulsing) obnoxiously, seeing NERO and Skrillex back-to-back was mind-blowing. Being right in the mix, the flashy lights, blasting sounds and the explosive effects – aught, again I say…AMAZING :)

Hard Summer Music Festival, Summer 2012

Hard Summer Music Festival at Sunset, Summer 2012

Hard Summer: Surkin Performance

Hard Summer Stage - Bright Lights

Another day we went to the Getty Center. The Getty Garden, created to be “a sculpture in the form of a garden aspiring to be art,” was flourishing while water cascaded over stepping stones. The panoramic views overlooking Lost Angeles were picturesque. The green patches of grass were an invitation for an afternoon of lounging on a blanket with a good book or listening to the live music that was playing. While inside, we walked through the photography exhibit ‘L.A. Style’ showcasing portraits of supermodels, hard bodies, strong women and vulnerable men taken by famed photographer Herb Ritts. We also visited the Gustav Klimt exhibit; displaying a selection of the artist’s detailed sketches idolizing the female body.

Me Gazing @ LA City Overview

LA City Overview

The Getty Center Garden

During our down time we simply hung out or took small shopping trips down Ventura Boulevard and Melrose Avenue; stopping in specialty shops along the way I’m definitely glad I saved room in my suitcase for what I found while I was away (including four books – who buy’s 4 books when they know they have to carry them across the country?…Me).

All-in-all, I had such a fun time out in LA. It was great to get away, relax, and some explore uncommon ground. Now that I’m back in Chicago, it’s back to the daily grind…and time to start planning where my next vaca will be :)

Leave a comment